Tuesday, 18 August 2009

How to modify Node Type Windows

  1. For W2K/XP, go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Netbt\Parameters to make change:Name: DhcpNodeType
    Value Type: REG_DWORD - Number
    Valid Range: 1,2,4,8 (b-node, p-node, m-node, h-node)
    Default: 1 or 8 based on the WINS server configuration

    If this key is present, it will override the DhcpNodeType key. If neither key is present, the system defaults to b-node if there are no WINS servers configured for the client. The system defaults to h-node if there is at least one WINS server configured.
  2. Windows 95, go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP
    Name: NodeType
    Value type: DWORD
    Valid range: 1, 2, 4, or 8

    Default: 1 (b-node) if no value is specified or no WINS servers are configured on the network; 8 (h-node) if WINS servers are specified and NodeType is not otherwise defined in the Registry.
If DNS is enabled (which also enabled LMHOSTS in Windows 95), name resolution will also follow the mode defined by this parameter. This value can also be configured using DHCP.

For details, see these Microsoft Knowledge Base articles:
Default Node Type for Microsoft Clients

No comments:

Post a Comment